Poetry Post #10: Sonelo

Sonelo by Abel Rodriguez G.
poemSoneto

The heat of your kisses
The day you stole my heart
I feel the passion of your verses
You came into my life with great reason

Thank you God for being placed in my path
I’m scared of losing you
I suffer, I don’t see you and in my dreams I imagine you
By being stupid and immature I preferred to not see you

In this solitude of 3 walls
Day after day I remember yesterday
The love you wished for
Of your kisses that were to believe

The day you stole my heart
You came into my life with great reason

About the poem: Rei’s translation of this poem attempts to recapture much of the poignancy present in the original, but the words stumble with a lack of punctuation cues. Nevertheless, the earnest nature of the poem shines from either version. Abel continues the tradition of writing a love sonnet, but brings a reflective, nostalgic twist to his poem.

Leave a Reply

