OSP Slam Poetry Recap: Poetry and Camaraderie

XD1I was blown away by the energy of the night. From leaving behind everything that could tie you to the outside world in the visiting room, to hearing all the gated doorways open and close, and finally getting to meet the students. I was transported into another world, and I felt welcomed. Even though I didn’t have a nickname that was more than my name, they all smiled and opened themselves up in that classroom. The quality of poetry and camaraderie we felt by sharing bits and pieces of ourselves left me in a shock by the end of it all. I still can’t fully describe how it felt, but I’m left with a spring in my step and a greater love for what we do here at Prisoner’s Poetry.

Leave a Reply

