OSP Slam Poetry Recap: An Insightful Night

imageThe evening that I attended the poetry reading for the Prisoner’s Poetry class was the first time I had ever been inside a prison. I was so excited to hear first-hand from these passionate people. At first, I was nervous to go in front of all these folks and speak, but the student who volunteered first was so confident and entertaining, that I instantly became comfortable. It was a chance in a lifetime to be able to engage with strangers and share a love for words. The beauty of it was that the only thing that had connected us was this passion for language; otherwise I wouldn’t have gained such meaningful insight.

Leave a Reply

