OSP Slam Poetry Recap: Slamming Words, Mixing Worlds

rei1Bang! Boom! Bachow! Alliterative onomatopoeia is the simplest way for me to illustrate how my poetic neurons were accelerating at the point when I heard the Prisoner’s Poetry students and team members perform their poems in the Oregon State Penitentiary. As I reflect about our time in the Activities Floor, I realized that, during that point in time, we were not just sharing simple verbs and nouns; we were experiencing two worlds colliding at speeds that caused my mind to be in the realm of elation. It was surreal. I’m happy I got to share this moment with the team and students.

Leave a Reply

